Mientras – while, as long as

mientras.png

Mientras can be used in different situations, but it’s more commonly used as “while”, another very common use is “as long as”.

Mientras = while

  • Ella siempre canta mientras se ducha.
    She always sings while she takes a shower.
  • Fue bonito mientras duró.
    It was nice while it lasted.
  • Él estaba leyendo mientras comía.
    He was reading while eating.
  • Mientras yo trabajo todo el día, tú no haces nada.
    While I’m working all day, you do nothing.
  • Los niños desarrollan habilidades sociales mientras trabajan juntos en su proyecto.
    Children develop social skills as they work together on their project.
  • Yo vivo en México y él en Corea, así que él está despierto mientras yo estoy durmiendo.
    I live in Mexico and he lives in Korea, so he’s awake while I’m sleeping.
  • Me gusta leer o escuchar música mientras espero el autobús.
    I like to read or listen to music while I wait for the bus.

Mientras + subjunctive = as long as

The subjunctive has many uses in Spanish, it’s very hard to find just one explanation for it, so today we are just going to see how to use it with mientras.

  • Siempre te ayudaré mientras pueda.
    I will always help you as long as I can.
    *poder → pueda (subjunctive)
  • Mientras viva, nadie te hará daño.
    As long as I live, no one will hurt you.
    *vivir → viva
  • Mientras tenga dinero, no me importa si no está guapo.
    As long as he has money, I don’t care if he’s not handsome.
    *
    tener → tenga
  • Mientras tú me ames, el mundo puede romperse en pedazos.
    As long as you love me, the world can break into pieces.
    *
    amar → ames
  • Puedes hacer lo que quieras mientras seas responsable.
    You can do whatever you want as long as you are responsible.
    *
    ser → seas // querer → quieras
  • Seguiré llevándole flores mientras a ella le guste.
    I’ll keep bringing her flowers as long as she likes it.
    *
    gustar → guste
  • Mientras viaje en avión, puedo ir a cualquier parte.
    As long as I travel by plane, I can go anywhere.
    *
    viajar → viaje

Extra!
Mientras más … más/menos = The more … the more/less

  • Mientras más leo, más aprendo.
    The more I read, the more I learn.
  • Mientras más lo veo, menos me gusta.
    The more I see it, the less I like it.
  • Mientras más lo pienso, más me gusta la idea.
    The more I think about it, the more I like the idea.
  • Mientras más tienen, más quieren.
    The more they have, the more they want.
Leave a Reply

